Alumni Update

Season’s Greetings from Prof David Lloyd
Vice Chancellor and President

Professor David Lloyd, Vice Chancellor and President
Professor David Lloyd, Vice Chancellor and President

What a great 25th birthday year we had! I enjoyed meeting so many of you at celebrations around the world: in London, Kuala Lumpur, Singapore, Hong Kong, Beijing, Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney, and in Adelaide at our Gala Dinner, Alumni Awards dinner and the Aboriginal Teacher Education Program reunion.

We extend a big thank you to the 900 guests who came to the Gala Dinner held in Adelaide in July, and danced to the jazz of the James Morrison Academy Band. Thank you to those who bought auction items and raffle tickets, which all contributed to the more than $500,000 raised this year for UniSA’s 25th Birthday Scholarships Fund to support future generations of students. Relive the gala

Thank you for your generous donations to the University’s new great hall, now known as Pridham Hall, thanks to UniSA’s largest ever gift, a $5 million legacy from Andrew Pridham, alumnus, CEO of Moelis and Co and Chairman of the Sydney Swans.

The Alumni Awards, in their second year, featured four recipients prominent in public life, former Premier of South Australia, The Honourable Dr Dean Brown AO; Leader of the Opposition in the Senate and Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs, Senator The Honourable Penny Wong; CEO of the Congress of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives, Janine Mohamed; and Editor-in-Chief, Vogue China, Angelica Cheung.

Prominent alumni honoured in the Australia Day and Queen’s Birthday Honours include Emeritus Professor Gwendolen Jull AO, Associate Professor Andrew Hill AM, Nyunggai Warren Mundine AO and Associate Professor Kaye Challinger AM. Three outstanding South Australian graduates were acknowledged for their contribution to business and the community: Kate Swaffer, South Australian of the Year, Andrea Mason, Telstra Australian Business Woman of the Year and Northern Territory Business Woman of the Year, and Jenny Paradiso, Telstra Business Women's Entrepreneur of the Year and Telstra South Australian Business Woman of the Year. Congratulations also to former Hong Kong Alumni Chapter President Edward Lam for winning a Chief Executive Commendation for Community Services by the Government of Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

Thanks to alumni for attending our events, mentoring our students, supporting our events and helping to run Chapters and alumni groups around the world.

Please stay in touch and share with us our next 12 months and indeed our next 25 years!

Back to Alumni Update