Jump to Content

Adelaide Technical High School Old Scholars Association

The Launching Luncheon

"Adelaide Technical High School-The Story"

Old Scholars of ATHS launched a CD Rom version of this production at a great luncheon on 13 October 2004. A former scholar and teacher, Bryce Kohler, is the author and he and his wife Faye were guests of the OS Association. 

The occasion was graced by the presence of the Patron of the Association, well known former surgeon and cricketing identity and old scholar, Dr. Don Beard. After Bryce had recounted how he came to write the story and how he went about it, the CD was formally launched by the Patron.

Prior to that President Don Warren presented Dr. Don with a certificate of Honorary Membership for his services to the Old Scholars Association. Present at the Luncheon was Mr Bob Knight, Principal of Glenunga International High School, who was present as an honoured guest because of the connection between this school and the Tech.

Chas Grimes, Vice-President of the OSA presented Bob with the cheque for the 2004 recipient of the Scholarship for a deserving student doing the International Baccalaureate Course. Mr Trevor and Mrs Kathleen Moyle represented the family of the longest serving headmaster of the Tech., the late Mr Sidney Moyle.

Three former teachers were able to attend the luncheon, Messrs Sam Twartz (58-63), Max Jacquier (55-70) and Ms Joy O'Reilly (64-70). The oldest former scholar present was Ron Cotton who attended 1923-25. Committee members decorated the Classic Restaurant for the occasion and also organised raffles and prizes which added to the enjoyment of the occasion.


Centenary of Brookman Building

The Brookman Building on UniSA's City East campus was one hundred years old in 2003. UniSA and the Adelaide Technical High School Old Scholars Association celebrated this special event by having a morning tea on 12 December 2003 where 600 people attended.

More information about the Centenary of Brookman Building.


 President - Mark Brindal    phone 08 8373 5081
 Membership Officer
- David Swift    phone 08 8268 2203