Jump to Content

About us

 The School of Education at the University of South Australia has a long and respected history of producing first class graduates and leaders within education across the nation.

Whilst it was formed only in 2003 from the deLissa Institute of Early Childhood and Family Studies and the Magill and Underdale Schools of Education, it brings with it and shares in the rich traditions of the institutions from which it was drawn.




Adelaide, Murray Park, Wattle Park, Western  & Salisbury Teachers Colleges
+ Kindergarten Union Training College

Adelaide, Hartley/Murray Park, Salisbury, Torrens & Kingston
Colleges of Advanced Education
+ Aboriginal Community College

South Australian College of
Advanced Education

University of South Australia
School of Education

(Magill School of Education
+ Underdale School of Education
+ deLissa Institute of
Early Childhood Education and Family Studies

In our programs and our research we consider the education and care of:


We explore, teach about, research, create knowledge about and build capacities regarding:


Our programs include:


Our staff members have a wide range of skills and knowledge and outstanding reputations within the state, nationally and internationally, for the excellence of their work as consultants, teachers and researchers. Through consultancies and joint research projects they are linked with education industry groups and universities in Australia and overseas.

The School supports, contributes to and is linked with a number of research centres and groups across the University and has its own Centre for Research in Education known as CREd with 11 diverse Groups researching many aspects of education at all levels.

We belong in the Education, Arts & Social Sciences Division of the University of South Australia.