Jump to Content

14th Annual Hawke Lecture
International criminal trials. A promise fulfilled?

Delivered by The Hon Dame Silvia Cartwright PCNZM, DBE, QSO, DStJ

Former Governor General of New Zealand and now Trial Judge, United Nations Assistance to the Khmer Rouge Trials, Courts of Cambodia

Hawke Centre

Thursday 9 June 2011

Adelaide Town Hall, 128 King William Street, Adelaide

Listen to this Podcast now
  (MP3) 23Mb (or right click and select 'save target as' to download)
  Written paper now available (pdf format)
  SBS News Video
  ABC Late Night Live interview

The Hon Dame Silvia CartwrightA former Governor General of New Zealand, Dame Silvia is well known for defending human rights through the United Nations, for furthering international justice, and for her deep analysis of the victim experience.

She has described the purpose of international trials as 'to end impunity, promote peace and reconciliation, punish those who have perpetrated proven mass crimes, and achieve justice for victims'.

In this address, Dame Silvia will consider the utility of international criminal trials against the backdrop of the Cambodian experience (1975-9) and others.

The Hon Dame Silvia Cartwright was the first female Chief District Court Judge and the first woman to be appointed to the High Court in New Zealand. She went on to become the Governor-General of New Zealand. She is now one of two international trial judges in the five member Trial Chamber of the ECCC, a court established by the Cambodian government and the United Nations to try senior members of the Khmer Rouge and those most responsible for the crimes that occurred in Cambodia between 1975 and 1989.


About the Hawke Centre

The Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Centre is a dynamic University of South Australia initiative to establish an internationally recognised public learning/visitor and research facility serving young people, national and international scholars and local and global audiences.

Named after Bob Hawke, a third generation South Australian, one of the 20th century's most notable Prime Ministers (1983-1991) and a great conciliator nationally and abroad, the Hawke Centre was established by Memorandum of Understanding in 1997. UniSA has developed the Centre believing that that Bob Hawke's contribution should be properly recognised through a national facility, not as a memorial, but in a way that helps young Australians and furthers his legacy of valuing a cohesive and fair Australia.

A new building designed by architect John Wardle to house the Centre's forum space, Civic Gallery, auditorium and Hawke Library was opened in July 2007.

Broadly, the Hawke Centre aims to challenge Australians to consider ideas and develop solutions for Australia and the world, leading towards more sustainable societies, within a democratic framework. It is supported by a fine group of national patrons, and especially, international patron Nelson Mandela.

The Annual Hawke Lecture is the premier national event on the public calendar of the University of South Australia, delivered under the auspices of the Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Centre. There are relatively few moments when we have the time to consider the larger issues of life, including the future of our nation and our world and how we can shape it. The University of South Australia offers the Annual Hawke Lecture in this spirit, as an opportunity to listen to the views of someone whose experience of human affairs is notable, and whose concerns about our world are truly worthy of consideration.

2011 Annual Hawke Lecture

Past lecturers

1998 The Hon Bob Hawke, former Prime Minister of Australia
1999 Sir Zelman Cowen, former Governor General of Australia
2000 Dr Mamphela Ramphele, Managing Director, World Bank
2001 Sir Gustav Nossal, distinguished Australian scientist
2002 Mr Noel Pearson, Aboriginal activist
2003 The Hon Gareth Evans, President of the International Crisis Group
2004 Ms Irene Khan, Secretary General, Amnesty International
2005 Mr Greg Bourne, CEO, WWF-Australia
2006 Mr Greg Combet, Secretary, ACTU
2007 The Hon Justice Michael Kirby AC CMG
2008 Professor Fiona Stanley AC
2009 Professor Ross Garnaut AO
2010 Professor Geoff Gallop AC


Ms Elizabeth Ho
The Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Centre, University of South Australia
Ph: 08 8302 0651 Mobile: 0417 085 585 Email: Elizabeth.ho@unisa.edu.au 

While the views presented by speakers within the Hawke Centre public program are their own and are not necessarily those of either the University of South Australia or The Hawke Centre, they are presented in the interest of open debate and discussion in the community and reflect our themes of: strengthening our democracy - valuing our diversity - and building our future.

The copying and reproduction of any transcripts within the Hawke Centre public program is strictly forbidden without prior arrangements.