Jump to Content

SA Heritage Heroes 2010

2010 South Australian Heritage Heroes Awards

Presented by the Hon Paul Caica MP, Minister for Environment and Conservation

Tuesday 3 August 2010

Presented by The Department for Environment and Natural Resources and the SA Heritage Council in conjunction with the Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Centre at UniSA

Department for Environment and Natural Resources                     The Hawke Centre logo

2010 SA Heritage Heroes Award Winners - Group Category Finalists


Camellia Society of the Adelaide Hills IncThe Camellia Society of the Adelaide Hills Incorporated

The Camellia Society of the Adelaide Hills is a group of dedicated volunteers who maintain the Stangate House Gardens - some of them having been involved for 30 years. In 1992/95 they saved camellias from the Leawood gardens which were demolished for the new freeway. The gardens have the largest range of camellias open to the public in the State.



Scout Archives GroupThe Scout Archives Group

The Scout Archives group preserve the historical record of scouting in South Australia. From their base in a former tramways converter station in Henley Beach they hold the largest collection of records and memorabilia in Australia - 1700 boxes all meticulously catalogued. The group supports anniversaries with exhibitions and displays such as the 100 year celebration of scouting in Peterborough.

Family History Volunteer TeamThe Family History Volunteer Team

The Tea Tree Gully Library is home to the local and family history group, who provide one-on-one family history help. Every year since 2002 they have increased their contribution of time to the community, and last year they assisted 866 people with their family tree, contributing over 2600 volunteer hours and a fantastic service to the people of Tea Tree Gully.



Minister's Commendations - Group category


Port Pirates 7Port Pirates 7

Port Pirates 7 are seven salty sea dogs, AKA very dedicated volunteers who have taken up the challenge to restore and maintain the AK Falie, since she was found unseaworthy. Since mid 2009 - in a very short time - they have made great progress bringing the vessel up to safety standards for general public access including organising an open day for the Flotilla for Kids this year with 350 visiting and providing three weeks on-board pre-sea training.


Balaklava Museum IncThe Balaklava Museum Inc

The Balaklava Museum volunteers have shown remarkable self drive and initiative, increasing their membership from 12 to 50 members since 2004, fundraising for the museum and quite incredibly moving the former RSL and CFS buildings in Balaklava onsite to help house their growing museum collection - which includes the Centenary Hall Folk Museum and the Urlwin Park Agricultural Museum.


Minister's Awards - Group category


Adelaide Gaol Preservation SocietyThe Adelaide Gaol Preservation Society

The Adelaide Gaol Preservation Society has some members who have been involved for more than 20 years and raise valuable funds for the Gaol through guided night tours and the shop, keeping the venue open to the community - basically ensuring that this major heritage site continues to contribute to our State by providing a valuable tourist and educational service. There are more volunteers in the group than this photo reflects - we just thought this one was a bit of fun!






Koppio Volunteer Group

Koppio Volunteer GroupThe Koppio Volunteer Group (from the Koppio Smithy National Trust Museum on the Eyre Peninsula) for their amazing work - some of the volunteers having been involved for all of the museum's 40 years history helping locals to connect with and appreciate the historical value of the Eyre Peninsula. No one was able to travel from Koppio today, but for your information they have a restored blacksmith shop and cottage, digitised photos, restored 9 tractors and received grants to ensure the museum continues including arranging disabled access and a new interpretation room to help celebrate their very well attended 40th birthday celebrations.

Individual Category Finalists


Tony AldousMr Tony Aldous, Scout Archives Branch Commissioner

Tony leads the volunteer group who have been working for 14 years - he himself for the past 7. He is a career archivist who gives much of himself to help maintain and display memorabilia for scouts all over our State and the Northern Territory, including badges, hats, organisation records but also some 10,000 photographs.




Minister's Commendations - Individual Category


Norman ReynoldsMr Norman Reynolds

Norm Reynolds' contribution to researching and recording the YMCA history over 54 years of volunteering is both staggering and commendable - almost single-handedly keeping and promoting the State YMCA's history - the first established outside of London. He has published a book on the YMCAs role supporting Australian Soldiers during the First, Second and Korean Wars as well as volunteering at Old Tailem Town and completing a history of Sunnybrae Farm.



Jo StokesMs Jo Stokes

Jo Stokes, from the Rail Steamtown Heritage Rail Centre in Peterborough - was nominated above her peers, for being a most active and proactive volunteer - recruiting and training other volunteers, and being an enthusiastic ambassador for the Centre, indeed, being so good at what she does that tour buses regularly request her to lead their groups.



Minister's Awards - Individual Category


Bob DonleyMr Bob Donley

Bob Donley is President of the Marion Historical Society and has been championing the heritage of the Marion area for over 20 years. Bob has fostered interest in the history of Marion and the State through many means, including publishing a book in 2001 Marion, a Suburban city 1945-2000. He has lobbied for the heritage listing of historical properties, supported staff at the Marion Council with historical enquiries, been involved in the restoration of Fairford House and other groups and projects such as the Marion Historical Village Walking Trial, the Marion Historic Village Project, Friends of Annie Doolan's Cottage.


Lyn O'GradyMs Lyn O'Grady

Lyn O'Grady, the Honorary Historian of Walkerville, has in 10 years founded an historical society in Walkerville, developed a focus on local history through public displays and recording local history - with immeasurable public benefit - organised guided walking tours, digital collections of photos, and has provided a unique service to the Walkerville community, in terms of awareness of heritage values.




Special Minister's Award


Anita Aspinall AMMs Anita Aspinall AM

Anita Aspinall recently retired as President of the National Trust of South Australia - to which she has been a passionate and active contributor for 20 years as well as Chair of the Hut Community Centre which has recently refurbished the historical Aldgate Railway Station. Anita drove the restoration of Beaumont House amongst many other projects - too many to go through - she is a person with a passion for her community, and the Heritage of our State, and we are richer for her amazing contribution.



While the views presented by speakers within the Hawke Centre public program are their own and are not necessarily those of either the University of South Australia or The Hawke Centre, they are presented in the interest of open debate and discussion in the community and reflect our themes of: strengthening our democracy - valuing our cultural diversity - and building our future.

Return to Calendar of Events