Jump to Content

Our patrons

Mr Nelson Mandela, International Patron of the Hawke Centre (2001 - 2013)

The Hon Dr Basil Hetzel, Nelson Mandela, Professor Denise Bradley

Thank you to all those who signed the Nelson Mandela memory book. Our book will again be open in the Gallery space for members of the South Australian community, Centre supporters and volunteers, and University of South Australia staff and students, to record their appreciation of Mandela's life and his contribution to reconciliation and peace from Monday 3 March - Friday 14 March (9am - 4pm).

On 1 August 2001 the Vice Chancellor, Professor Denise Bradley, AO, formally announced that Mr Nelson Mandela has accepted the role of international patron of the Hawke Centre. The official celebration and announcement was held at the Adelaide Town Hall and was co-hosted by the Right Honourable the Lord Mayor, Mr Alfred Huang.

As one of the 20th century's outstanding humanitarian leaders, Mandela's patronage sent an enduring message about the development of the Hawke Centre and its commitment to education, justice, and responsible leadership and citizenship at the local and international level.

While President of South Africa, Nelson Mandela was awarded a University of South Australia doctorate by the former Chancellor the Honourable Dr Basil Hetzel AC in a ceremony at the University of Fort Hare, South Africa in April 1998. This award recognised President Mandela's commitment to empowerment through education. (Copy of speech delivered by Nelson Mandela). 

Nelson Mandela Foundation web site.

National Patrons of the Hawke Centre

UniSA/Hawke Centre logo

His Excellency Rear Admiral KJ Scarce AC CSC RANR
Governor of South Australia

National Patrons
Hon Dr Basil Hetzel AC
Hon Michael Kirby AC CMG
Sir Eric Neal AC CVO
Professor Lowitja O'Donoghue AC CBE
Mrs Imelda Roche AO
Rt Hon Sir Ninian Stephen KG AK GCMG GCVO KBE

Rt Hon Sir Zelman Cowen AK GCMG GCVO QC (deceased)
Dame Roma Mitchell AC DBE CVO (deceased)


2010 Annual Hawke Lecture

Patrons at the 2010 Annual Hawke Lecture

Front row (L-R): 

Professor Lowitja O'Donoghue, Hawke Centre Patron
Elizabeth Ho, Director , The Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Centre, UniSA

2nd row (L-R):
Sir Eric Neal, Hawke Centre Patron
Professor Pal Ahluwalia, Pro Vice Chancellor, Division of Education, Arts and Social Sciences,  UniSA
Professor Geoff Gallop, 2010 Annual Hawke Lecturer
The Hon Bob Hawke
The Hon Dr Basil Hetzel, Hawke Centre Patron
Professor Peter Høj, Vice Chancellor, UniSA
Dr Ian Gould, Chancellor, UniSA