Jump to Content

Top teachers continue to inspire

Ten UniSA teachers have been acknowledged in eight projects to win citations in this year’s Australian Learning and Teaching Council Awards for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning.

Formerly known as the Carrick Awards, they are Australia’s top awards for excellence in university teaching and program development. Citations at UniSA went to two teams and six individuals.

Associate Professor Ian Clark and Delene Weber from the School of Natural and Built Environments were acknowledged for their outstanding and sustained contribution to the development of an integrated and student-centred program in protected area management.

Inspiring student engagement and motivation by developing innovative course content in media arts and teaching it well, won attention for Sophie Relf and Jennifer Stokes from the School of Communication.

Individual citations were awarded to Dr Helen Calabretto from the School of Nursing and Midwifery for curricula and resources development; Dr Pamela Zeplin from the South Australian School of Art for educational leadership especially in intercultural student learning; Dr Rodney Fopp from International Studies for a sustained approach to engaging with students and responding to diverse needs; the School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences’ Associate Professor Anthony Woods for excellence in curriculum development in laboratory medicine; Associate Professor Gary Howat from the School of Management for motivational teaching and innovative resource development; and Professor of Law and Criminal Justice, Rick Sarre for sustained excellence in course development and presentation and inspirational teaching.